Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Storytime recap

on July 30, 2008

Well, I went into work expecting to do a normal storytime, but instead I ended up doing a Stay & Play. One the last Tuesday and Friday of each month, my library does a shortened storytime, and uses the extra time to do a craft project with the kids. So I ended up reading only 1 book (Its Quacking Time by Martin Waddell), and did 1 counting game with the kids. Then we made hand puppets brown paper bags!!! Since I didn’t have much time to prep, I could only find a decent cow template for the hand puppets with, even though I read about ducks, and I ran of time before I could find a picture book on farm animals to tie the duck and cow together. So that felt awkward, cuz the kids were all excited for ducks! Well, they still had fun, showing off their puppets. It went quite successfully. The kids were very well behaved and even stayed to help me put away all the toys and materials.

=) I think I should have been a Kindergarten teacher… Just do storytime and crafts all day long.

Leave a Reply

