Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Friday Baby Storytime 6/17/2011

on June 25, 2011
This weekly meme is an attempt to improve my reader’s advisory skills as well as highlight the great literature out there for kids, and their uses for library story times.
Today’s storytime was absolutely insane. There were about 80+ people in the room (picture 2 kids attached to 1 adult) and everyone was fussy. The room was full, the babies were cranky and I had some kids as old as 10 sitting on the carpet listening to me sing Hickory Dickory Dock.Although the kids paid attention the most when I sang the songs and did the rhymes, they were fussy and whiny during the books. I had specifically chosen pop-up books and short, colorful little stories too. I added in an extra song, I Wiggle, which I found in a the lyrics page of a children’s CD. These CDs are probably my favorite resource for improving current rhymes, finding new songs, and updating old favorites.

The kids clearly love the songs more than the reading, so I’ll have to start incorporating more of that into my routine.

This was today’s routine:

ABC Song
Clap, roll, rub hands (slow then quickly)
Open/Shut Them
Book 1: What the Ladybug Heard by Julia Donaldson
What the ladybug heard
Songs
Hickory Dickory Dock
This is big, big, big
Garden Snail
Fee, Fi, Fo, Fum
I wiggle
Book 2: Snappy Little Bugs (pop-up)
Snappy little bugs : see the bugs jump, hop, and crawl
Songs
Head, Shoulders, knees and toes
count to 10 and back on fingers,
Up in the Apple Tree
Jack and Jill
Book 3: The Very Lazy Ladybug by Isobel Finn
The very lazy ladybug
Closing Song
If you’re happy and you know it
Leave a Reply

