Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Friday Baby Storytime 7/1/2011

on July 1, 2011
This weekly meme is an attempt to improve my reader’s advisory skills as well as highlight the great literature out there for kids, and their uses for library story times.
Today’s storytime went really well. The kids were attentive, parents were making sure no one was running around or being disruptive. I actually got a few compliments from the parents and from my supervisor, so I know I must be doing something right. I really am having fun with the kids. Even with an audience of about 60+ its nice to see that the kids already know the motions to the songs and participate with the books. This time I had more babies in the 0-12 months stage, so I’ll have to start incorporating more songs and rhymes for that age group. Right now, most of my routine is geared for the 12 to 24 month range. I added a new song today: One, Two. I threw that in just before my closing song. The books were great, I ADORE Audrey Wood’s work. They are always a success with every storytime I’ve done and Piggy Pie Po was an audience favorite. I Can Help is very colorful with few words, so it requires some ad-libbing. The Wonderful Book is also a lovely story, with beautiful illustrations and a variety of forest animals.
 
 
Today’s Routine:
 
ABC Song
Clap, roll, rub hands (slow then quickly)
Open/Shut Them
If You’d Like To Read A Book – Clap Your Hands
Book 1: Piggy Pie Po by Audrey & Don Wood
Piggy Pie Po
Songs
Hickory Dickory Dock
This is big, big, big
Garden Snail
Fee, Fi, Fo, Fum
If You’d Like to Read A Book – Stomp Your Feet
Book 2: The Wonderful Book by Leonid Gore
The wonderful book
Songs
Head, Shoulders, knees and toes
count to 10 and back on fingers,
Itsy Bitsy Spider
Garden Snail
Jack and Jill
If You’d Like to Read A Book – Clap Your Hands
Book 3: I Can Help by David Hyde Costello
I can help
Closing Song
One, Two
If You’re Happy and You Know It
Leave a Reply

