Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Friday Baby Storytime 7/8/2011

on July 8, 2011
This weekly meme is an attempt to improve my reader’s advisory skills as well as highlight the great literature out there for kids, and their uses for library story times.
I’m getting into a better swing with the baby storytimes. Its really helpful seeing the same children each week, and seeing what their attention spans and capabilities are. I love it when one week they watch all the action and the next week they participate. I had a lot of new people to the storytime this week. The books I choose were shorter than normal, which made storytime shorter than normal. The only book I don’t think I’ll use again is Rosie’s Walk. I love that book and I think its a great baby picture book, but I just didn’t know how to use it for storytime purposes for an audience of 60. I guess that will come with practice. I also need to start implementing new materials (songs, rhymes) into my routine. I’ve been using the same set for the past few weeks and I can tell the kids are starting to get bored with a few of them. Piggies by Don & Audrey Wood was a big hit. The big, colorful pages kept the kids attention. Parents were able to point to the fingers with the babies and act out some of the scenes. Mommy Carry Me is another fantastic read. The kids loved seeing all the different wild animals, and parents got a chance to cuddle with their kids. The book is also a great segway into Head, Shoulders, Knees & Toes because it covers various body parts.
 This was today’s routine:

ABC Song
Clap, roll, rub hands (slow then quickly)
Open/Shut Them
Book 1: Mommy Carry Me Please by Jane Cabrera
Mommy, carry me please!
Songs
One, Two
Hickory Dickory Dock
This is big, big, big
Fee, Fi, Fo, Fum
Book 2: Piggies by Don & Audrey Wood
Piggies
 
Songs
Head, Shoulders, knees and toes
count to 10 and back on fingers,
Itsy Bitsy Spider
Garden Snail
5 Pretty Flowers
Book 3: Rosie’s Walk by Pat Hutchins
Rosie's Walk.
Closing Song
Jack and Jill
If you’re happy and you know it
Leave a Reply

