Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Friday Baby Storytime 8/05/2011

on August 5, 2011
This weekly meme is an attempt to improve my reader’s advisory skills as well as highlight the great literature out there for kids, and their uses for library story times.
I didn’t do a baby storytime last week, so I felt slightly out of practice for today’s storytime. Even though I follow virtually the same routine each week, I still had to keep checking my outline, and pausing to remember the lines to the songs and make sure I didn’t repeat songs. The parents were really sweet as were the kids. Sitting patiently, giants smiles plastered on their faces. I could just make faces at the babies for 20 minutes and they’d love it. They liked the books, but its really the songs and rhymes that they enjoy the best. Especially anything that involves rolling their arms and clapping. I had about 60 people again today, lots of little infants. I’m definitely getting more of a 12 months and younger crowd, but these kids are so clever, they still enjoy the rhymes I do for the 12-24 month range.
This was today’s routine:
ABC Song
Clap, roll, rub hands (slow then quickly)
Open/Shut Them
If You’d Like to Read A Book – Clap Your Hands
 
Book 1: Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Martin
Chicka chicka boom boom
Songs
This is big, big, big
Hickory Dickory Dock
Roly Poly
Fee, Fi, Fo, Fum
If You’d Like to Read a Book – Clap Your Hands
 
Book 2: To Market To Market by Anne Miranda
To market, to market
Songs
Count to 10 on Fingers
Ten Little Peas in a Pea Pod Pressed
Head, Shoulders, knees and toes
Garden Snail
Itsy Bitsy Spider

Book 3: I Went Walking by Sue Williams

I went walking
Closing Song
One, Two
Jack & Jill
If you’re happy and you know it
Leave a Reply

