Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Friday Baby Storytime 11/04/2011

on November 4, 2011
This weekly meme is an attempt to improve my reader’s advisory skills as well as highlight the great literature out there for kids, and their uses for library story times.
Storytime today was a total flop. Most of the kids were much older than the 24 month age cap for the baby storytime, everyone (mostly parents) were fussy and disruptive. I was distracted but not happy with my book selections, so I didn’t give them the same energy as normal. 
 
Rainy day cabin fever storytime. I think I’ll have to start designing music only storytime programs for rainy days like this. That was the only time I could keep anyone’s attention was when we were all singing.
 
The redeeming moments were seeing the 8 month old babies move their bodies to the motions of the songs on their own. That I love. When the kids know what I’m going to say before hand and are ready to theatrical show off their movement and coordination abilities.  
 
This was today’s routine:
ABC Song
Clap, roll, rub hands (slow then quickly)
Open/Shut Them
If You’d Like to Read A Book – Clap Your Hands
 
Book 1: A Tree for Me by Nancy Van Laan
A tree for me
Van Laan’s book about a young boy climbing up 5 different trees before finding the perfect one has fun rhymes, and unique photos. It worked well for storytime because of the repetition and the counting element. Most of the kids got into the swing and would say “uh oh! oh no!” with me or “I want that one” and point to an invisible tree in the room.
 
Songs
Hickory Dickory Dock (2x)
Tall as a Tree (2x)
Roly Poly (2x)
Itsy Bitsy Spider (2x)
If You’d Like to Read a Book – Clap Your Hands
 
Book 2: Fall Leaves Fall by Zoe Hall
Fall leaves fall! 
This is a great book about the changing of the seasons, from summer to fall. But it wasn’t sing-songy, it didn’t flow well for the storytime. None of the kids or adults were into the book. It didn’t really tell a story. This book is more informative than anything else, so it was kind of a flop.
 
Songs
Little Bird
Head, Shoulders, knees and toes
Ten Little Peas in a Pea Pod Pressed (2x)
This is big, big, big (2x)
If You’d Like to Read a Book – Clap Your Hands

Book 3: One Red Apple by Harriet Ziefert

One red apple

The illustrations are really the main selling point of this picture book. I adore the images and would love to frame each and every page and hang them up in my living room. The text is simple and short. The book tells the story of an apple, from picking it off the tree to eating it, planting the seeds and growing a big apple tree. By the time I read this book for storytime, no one was really paying attention, kids were walking/running/talking and it wasn’t appreciated the way it should have been. In hind sight, I should have read this book first.
 
Closing Song
Jack & Jill
Fee, Fi Fo, Fum
If you’re happy and you know it
 
I normally do the closing songs 2x, but since everyone was so fussy, I just wanted to end the session and get a break from all the ruckus. At least I have a break from storytime next week because of the Veteran’s Day holiday. Maybe the week after won’t be so bad? At least I get another break after that for Thanksgiving.
Leave a Reply

