Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Monday baby storytime recap

on February 6, 2012

I know I haven’t updated by Friday baby storytime recaps in a long time. The Friday storytimes have been pretty crazy. I still get 80+ people in the room, but its more manageable. I figured out that I really lose their attention during the book portion, so I’m trying to incorporate more songs. As of today, I’ve picked up 2 additional storytime programs at my library. I developed a new routine, which seems to be working really well. Today was the 2nd test run with it, and I think I really like it. 2 books and more songs. Everything went really well, except I called a lift song a bounce song, so I had a few confused parents looking at me. Whoops…

This is what I sang/read today:

  1. ABC Song
  2. Clap, Roll, Rub
  3. Open/Shut Them
  4. If You’d Like to Read a Book

Book ONE

Big, Bigger, Biggest by Nancy Coffelt

Big, bigger, biggest!

This book was a little too long for the storytime, so I had to paperclip a section together. Otherwise it was really fun. I should have introduced each animal as they appeared on the page. I started doing that about halfway through. It’s a very cute book, a great one for precocious kids because of the vocabulary building element. The pictures are simple, the font is large, and there isn’t a plot, just various adjectives.

  1. Itsy Bitsy Spider (2x)
  2. Roly Poly (2x)
  3. Hickory Dickory Dock (3 verses: one-ran, two-boo, three-yippee!)
  4. Wheels on the bus (wheels, wipers, horn, chat, wheels)
  5. Baby Hands (dance up, dance down,  dance all around, on shoulders, head, knees, & lap)
  6. Head/Shoulders Knees and Toes (2x)
  7. 10 Little Peas in a Pea Pod Pressed (2x)
  8. Little Bird (2x)
  9. Cheek Chin (2x) – LIFT
  10. If You’d like to Read a book

Book TWO

Quick as a Cricket by Audrey Wood

What is there to say about Audrey Wood? This book was a great companion piece with Big, Bigger, Biggest since it also incorporates the same concepts of size, speed, etc. Large, detailed images, few words, no plot. The kids liked it, and the parents did too.

Quick as a cricket

  1. Jack & Jill
  2. Fee, Fi, Fo, Fum
  3. If You’re Happy & You Know It.
Leave a Reply

