Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

I Love My Mommy (Sebastien Braun)

on February 21, 2012

I love my mommy

I Love My Mommy by Sebastien Braun
Format: Picture Book
Age range: Baby to Toddler
Storytime Rating: ☼ ☼ ☼ ☼ ☼
Find this book at your local library

I’m trying out a new rating method for picture books, and this is my first test run. Let me know how it goes.

Format: self-explanatory, the format of the book
Age Range: the audience that will best appreciate and sit through the book
Storytime Rating: The rating scale determines whether this book is ideal for storytime or not. 
– Wordy, small font, too much plot/sub plot small pictures, not ideal for a group setting
☼ ☼ – Wordy, small font, the book itself is small, not ideal for a group setting
☼ ☼ ☼ – Less wordy, larger images, the book is small or the font is small, ok for a large group
☼ ☼ ☼ ☼  – Less wordy, simple plot, large font, large pictures, good for a large group
☼ ☼ ☼ ☼ ☼ – Ideal length, large font, large – 2page images, large book, good for a large group
I usually base my overall review of pictures based on their reception at storytime. I do three programs a week, so I have quite a bit of room to experiment with different titles. The kids for my storytime are babies to older toddler (so…10 months to 3 years). That is the age group I will focus on primarily for my picture book review as they pertain to storytimes.

That being said…I gave this book a 5 sun rating in regards to storytime selections. The images are beautiful images of baby animals with their mothers. The book chronicles everything a mother does for her child: feeding, cuddles, carrying, swimming, etc.

Each animal and phrase spans two pages, which is great for large crowds. The people in the back of the room will be able to see what’s going on. The font is also very large, so it is easy to read from a side-glance. Its perfect for Mother’s Day, I used it for Valentine’s Day. The animals range from squirrels to beavers, raccoons and bears. The kids I read this one to particularly loved the mother duck and baby duck page. I would definitely recommend this with Owl Babies by Martin Waddell or Laura Numeroff’s What Mommies/Daddies do Best.

My mommy watches me while I play.

My mommy takes me swimming.

My mommy helps me to climb.

Its repetitive, its short, its simple and direct. Braun also has a book titled I Love My Daddy, which is the papa-version of this book. Braun has written a number of picture books, all of which are very popular at my library.

I love my daddy

Leave a Reply

