Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Baby Storytime Recap 3/5/2012

on March 5, 2012

Although I’m doing two baby storytimes, they are completely separate programs with different kids and age ranges. The books that work for the Monday storytimes (traditional baby books) usually bore the Friday kids. Drat. I was hoping to just go with the same set of books for the week. On the plus side, the parents really like my book selections because by the time I get ready to leave the room, I usually have no books to take up with me. Today was no exception.

The routine:
ABC song
Clap, Roll, Rub
Open Shut them
If You’d Like to Read a Book

Book one – Wake Up, Me! By Marni McGhee

Wake up, me!

This is a cute little wake-up book for a morning storytime crowd. It has all of the elements that I look for in my storytime books. Large visuals, large font (I had a few parents reading along with me because they could see the words), and a simple story with a character the babies can relate to. The book is about a young boy going through his morning routine (wake up, eat breakfast, get dressed, brush teeth, put on jacket and cap, go outside to play). It reintroduced body parts & actions, its a story in rhyme, which makes it easy to read, and I could point to my own chin and nose when reading the corresponding parts of the book.

Hickory Dickory Dock (one, boo, yippee)
Roly Poly (2x)
Itsy Bitsy Spider (2x)
Wheels on the bus (Wheels, wipers, horn, people)
Cheek, Chin (2x)
If You’d Like to Read a Book – Clap your hands

Book two: Five Little Ducks: An Old Rhyme (Illustrated by Pamela Paparone)

Five little ducks : an old rhyme

I usually just sing this song, using it as another method to introduce counting and fingers in a fun way. I figured, I could cheat and read a song for storytime, to keep the pace of storytime lively and active. These types of books work really well for my crowds, and its another way to get the parent and child to interact during the program. We counted to 5 on one hand, and then proceeded to count down to 0 every couple of pages. The book is small, as are the pictures so its not ideal for storytime,. The font is smaller than I like as well, but luckily i have the song memorized. Its still nice to have some kind of a visual in my hand to go along with the book.

Stretch

Head/Shoulders/Knees and Toes (normal pace, faster, faster still)
Count to 10
10 Little Peas in a Pea Pod Pressed
This is Big, Big, Big
Little Bird
3 Little Monkeys Jumping on the bed
If You’d Like to Read a Book – Clap your hands

Book three: Time to Get Up, Time to Go by David Milgrim

Time to get up, time to go

I adore this book. Its small, so not ideal for large crowds, but the sentences are short, 4-5 words. The book has a nice flow as it follows a young boy from the time he wakes up to the time he goes back to bed. He plays, he “cooks”, cleans and reads and helps set the table for the evening meal. I thought it was really cute and set a good example for a productive day should be like for kids. The parents liked this book too, although I really wish it was larger in size.

Jack & Jill
Fee, Fi, Fo, Fum
If You’re Happy and You Know it.

 

Leave a Reply

