Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Baby Storytime – Letter E

on April 30, 2012

Today’s storytime is devoted to the letter E. I gotta say, the more I do this project, the harder it gets to find letter-appropriate books. I have to get very creative with my selections. I can only be so grateful that I decided to keep all my songs and rhymes the same, and not try to add too many letter-themed songs to that lot. E was a bit of a struggle. Most books with or about the letter E are about Elephants, Eggs and Easter. I did find a few age appropriate books, but they were few and far between. I have to start my book searches 2 weeks in advance to find the right titles before they get checked out.

I went with 2 books today:

Ernest, the Moose Who Doesn’t Fit. (I just love this book, I’ve read it at my other 2 storytimes already)

Ernest, the moose who doesn

&

Looking After Little Ellie. (about a group of mice babysitting a baby elephant).

Looking after little Ellie by Dosh Archer

I didn’t add any additional songs. I had a printout of capital E and lower case e, and I had the group say the letter E extra loud during our ABC song. Luckily, most of my songs have the letter F, so I’m all set for next week!

Other Picture Books for the letter E

  1. Except if by Jim Averbeck    Except If by Jim Averbeck
  2. The odd egg by Emily Gravett The Odd Egg by Emily Gravett
  3. Egg drop by Mini Grey Egg Drop by Mini Grey  
  4. What What’s In The Egg Little Pip by Karma Wilson
  5. Elmer and the hippos by David McKee Elmer & the Hippos by David McKee
  6. E-mergency! by Tom Lichtenheld E-mergency by Tom Lichtenheld
  7. Eaglet Eaglet’s World by Evelyn Minshull
  8. Ollie Ollie’s Easter Eggs by Oliver Dunrea
  9. Elephant in the bathtub by Kristina Andres Elephant in the Bathtub by Kristina Andres
  10. Ella sets sail by Carmela D Ella Sets Sail by Carmela D’Amico
Leave a Reply

