Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Baths and Bedtime Stories

on April 3, 2013

I read that 6 weeks of age for a newborn is a good time to start instituting a bedtime routine. Up until now, they’ve mostly been eating and sleeping on demand. But at this stage, we can start to prepare them for a regular and consistent bedtime. Since Sunday, we’ve been giving the little man baths and reading to him before tucking him into bed. Well, following the saying ‘Third time’s a charm”, tonight, he actually fell asleep during one of the books. The previous two nights did not end in him sleeping, so I count this as a major win for us! Its 9pm and I can enjoy some time with my husband, or rather this blog, before going to bed myself with a book in hand.

What did we read?

I’m Dirty by Kate & John McMullen

I'm dirty! We figured this book as apropos, since we gave him a bath, but this isn’t the best bedtime book. Its full of fun and noisy sound effects that seemed to stimulate the little worm more than lull him to sleep. It’s still a fun book, and I can’t wait to read it again with him when he’s older.

Agent A to Agent Z by Andy Rash

Agent A to Agent Z This is a really funny alphabet book. It’s very quirky. It’s a good bedtime book because all the action takes place at night, leaving all the illustrations with dark tones that are perfect for conveying the difference between night and day.

Bear Feels Sick by Karma Wilson

Bear feels sick This is the book that finally lulled the little man to sleep. Karma Wilson is by far one of my favorite children’s book authors. I love pretty much all of her books. Whopper Cake is one of my favorites to read at storytime. Bear Feels Sick is also a great book for bedtime. It’s about a sick bear who is being cared for my his woodland friends. The illustrations are in soft hues of browns, orange and yellow. The illustrations and the tone is very comforting and nurturing. Not that I want my son to get sick, but I think this book will play a dual role on those days too.

Other books we read for bedtime stories this week:

Moo, baa, la la la! Moo, Baa, La La La by Sandra Boynton

Little Tug Little Tug by Stephen Savage

King Arthur's very great grandson King Arthur’s Great-Great Grandson by Kenneth Kraegel

Silly little goose! Silly Little Goose by Nancy Tafuri

Piggies Piggies by Audrey and Don Wood

Leave a Reply

