Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

I Spy on the Farm by Edward Gibbs

on July 10, 2014
9780763664312
I Spy on the Farm by Edward Gibbs
Picture Book
Age: 0-5
Topics: Farm animals,
Find this book at your local library
 

I Spy on the Farm by Edward Gibbs is a wonderfully illustrated book about spotting farm animals. This book is perfect for toddlers and preschoolers. I like that the book is actually the I Spy game, but using animals, their colors and sounds, as clues.

I spy with my little eye….

Something yellow that begins with a D.

There are a total of 7 animals with clues. I like that at the very end of the book, there is a hole in the last few pages and the back cover, prompting the reader with “What can you spy with your little eye?” The illustrations are mostly the primary colors, with the animals taking up the majority of the page. They are kind of Nina Laden’s Peek-A series, with a giant hole cut in the pages with the clue, providing a sneak peek of the answer. I plan on using this for my story time. Its a great one for small kids, but I think older kids will enjoy it as well.

Uses for story time

I like it for story time, because it’s a fun, interactive book for a wide span of age-ranges. I can also use the last page as an easy transition back into my songs routine, as well as use it as opportunity to include an I Spy game into the program.

Leave a Reply

