Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Story time Hiatus

on July 31, 2014

Today was my last story time for the summer. All of our libraries take a month-long break in August from all programming. We then jump right back into the swing of things in September. I’m actually looking forward to this break. I feel as if my story times are on auto-pilot. Since I do the baby/toddler story time, I like to keep the songs consistent. Babies learn best through repetition, and its been an incredible joy seeing these babies grow into toddlers over the past seven months and seeing their motor and language skills progress each week. That is really one of the most rewarding aspects of this program.

But I am getting tired of my songs and I want to do a complete routine overhaul. So this break will be a good chance to renew and start fresh. I hope to see the same faces in September, but I’ll appreciate all the new faces and new batch of learners and pre-readers too. Our Summer Reading Challenge is drawing to a close today too. We’ve surpassed the number of participants we had last year and the BINGO grid that we use has been incredibly popular with both kids and adults. I’m so proud of my library system for a job well done.

I’m also using this programming hiatus to a new story time workshop for parents. I’m really excited about this and I hope I get a good turn-out. I’d really like to pass along early literacy information to parents during story time, but every attempt is awkward. Parents, grandparents and caregivers aren’t there for lessons. They are there for a quick half hour of entertainment for the kids. I’m hoping this workshop will net the parents that are interested in the benefits of early literacy practices. They already participate just by coming to story time on a weekly basis. The main gist of the program is giving parents the tools to do a story time session at home. I already give my new-parent friends tips and songs all the time. I was lucky enough to be doing three baby/toddler story times a week during my pregnancy, so I already had an entire rolodex of songs and books that are age appropriate. But not all new parents are quite as prepared and many board books are just not the right fit for such young children.

Leave a Reply

