Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Storytime Thurdsay – Bugs, Bugs Bugs!

on September 11, 2014

This week’s storytime theme is bugs.

The books:

I Love Bugs by Emma Dodd

Emma Dodd has long been a favorite of mine for storytimes. Her books work well for Baby/Toddler and Preschool storytimes. This one in particular is fun. A young boy describes all the different types of bugs that he sees and loves. The “brightly-colored-wing bugs and stripy swipey sting bugs.” The book is enourmously fun to read aloud, although I did trip over the words a few times. The illustrations are colorful and endearing, with lots of focus on the insects.

 

Bugs! Bugs! Bugs!

Bugs! Bugs! Bugs!

Bob Barner is another storytime favorite. This book is no exception. Its a very good compliment to I Love Bugs, although I wonder if its too repetitive? Either way, its a quick, short look at bugs, perfect for the baby age range, while I Love Bugs is more appropriate for the toddlers. Its a good compromise for my mixed up storytime audience. The images are very eye-catching, with bright illustrations. Although this book is rather small in size, the colors stand out so that people can see the images in the back. I tend to lean towards larger books because my storytimes have such a large crowd. The the story is concise enough to keep everyone’s attention.

Songs

I kept my same selection of songs, although this week I added Here is the Beehive.

Here is the Beehive, (make a fist, tuck thumb inside)

But where are the bees?

Hidden inside where nobody sees.

Here they come out of the hive (pop out thumb)

One Two Three Four Five (pop out remaining fingers)

 

© 2014 by Nari of Ready, Set, Read. All rights reserved. You can also follow me @TheNovelWorld or at my Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

