Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Thursday Baby/Toddler Storytime – Milk & Cookies

on January 22, 2015

This week’s book theme is Milk & Cookies!

I try not to vary the songs too much during my storytimes, although I added a couple new songs today. I like to use giant posterboards with the lyrics written on them to help the audience. Although I’ve been to other storytimes where the librarian’s use a projector screen to show the lyrics. The projector screen is so much less time consuming than the posterboards, but I make do with that I have. I did swap around some songs this time around. I moved This Little Piggy just before 10 Little Peas, and it was a wonderful transition. We counted fingers, then got to pop them very loudly. I also added a new goodbye song “We Wave Goodbye Like This” just so the finale doesn’t feel as stunted as usual.

Honey is our stuffed bear that comes out of hibernation for every storytime. All the kids rush up for their Honey kisses at the start and end of each storytime. I love that this attachment they have to Honey. It really helps them enjoy storytime that much more, and gives me an easier time getting to know that child and guardian afterwards.

The Songs

  • Opening Song: Where is Honey?
  • ABC
  • Clap, Roll, Rub Hands (slowly, then quickly)
  • Tommy Thumbs Up

Who ate all the cookie dough? by Karen BeaumontWho Ate All the Cookie Dough by Karen Beaumont

  • Roly Poly
  • The Wheels on the Bus
  • Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
  • This Little Piggy
  • Ten Little Peas in a Pea Pod Pressed
  • Fire Truck Song

It looked like spilt milk by Charles Green ShawIt Looked Like Spilt Milk by Charles Shaw

  • This is Big, Big, Big (From Mel’s Desk)
  • Two Little Blackbirds
  • Fee, Fi, Fo, Fum
  • If You’re Happy & You Know It
  • We Wave Goodbye Like This
  • Goodbye Honey
Leave a Reply

