Ready, Set, Read!

The ABC's of being a children's Librarian

Picture Book Review: What Am I?

on June 4, 2015

What Am I?

Title: What Am I?
Author: Linda Granfield
Format: Picture Book
Source: Library Copy
Publisher: Tundra Books, 2007
Pages/Format: 32/Hardcover
ISBN: 9780887768125

I have many pages that you can read and turn. I come in all shapes and sizes. What am I? A book!
This delightful and colorful book of riddles and guessing games is perfect for your toddler or preschooler.
The clues are quite obvious, but there are three clues for every question, with five possible answers. What I like is that along with the answer, you find out more information about the topic. For instance, the first clue is for a bicycle. Once the answer is revealed, you see this:

I am a bicycle.

I have two wheels.
You can ride me around the block
or in races around the world.
I am a good way to exercise
while you travel.

The illustrations are colorful and enticing for young children. This would be perfect for a preschool storytime or to read for a class setting. The kids will love shouting out the answers. I’d love to see a sequel called Where Am I?

Primary Reading Skills

New Words: A riddle book like this is an excellent way to introduce new vocabulary as well as expand vocabulary about known concepts.

Love Books: This book shows that reading doesn’t have to be boring. It can be fun, interactive and maybe even a little competitive.

How to use this book

For the parents

Read this at anytime during the day. Use it as a guide to make up your own riddles with your child. Play guessing games like I Spy before or after reading this book. Encourage kids to use their words and really try to think of an answer. Ask them to explain why they think their answer is correct. This is a book that doesn’t have to be read all at once, key for the really squirmy kids. Read one riddle a night, see if they ask for more.

For librarians/teachers

This is a wonderful selection for storytimes as well as for kids who don’t really sit still for reading time. This is something you can use for class visits or storytimes. I’d recommend for preschool and up, as kids will be able to call out their answers and guesses better than the early toddlers. It can fit virtually any theme you have planned or be its own standalone book.

Suggested Reading

Who Am I? Baby Animals Zoomzingers

Leave a Reply

